Olarm’s Cancel Responder - Simple, quick and convenient!
Aug 16, 2023
Now there’s an easier – and quicker – way to let your Security Company know when you’ve accidentally set the alarm off.
Olarm’s Cancel Responder feature lets you immediately cancel a user generated alarm right from your Olarm APP while also notifying your Security Company to stop the call-out. (If in any duress it will also send a silent help signal.)
How to enable the Cancel Responder feature in the Olarm APP
The Cancel Responder feature is only available if your connected Security Company offers the service.
Only the primary user of a device can set up the Cancel Responder feature.
Step 1: Open Settings (top right menu button in the Olarm APP) and tap on ‘Set up Cancel Responder’.
Step 2: Select 1 emoji as your security answer, and that’s it!
⚠️ Don’t see this option? Contact your Security Company and ask for the Olarm Cancel Responder feature to be enabled.
How to use the Cancel Responder feature in the Olarm APP:
Action 1: When an alarm is triggered for an area, the primary user will get an in-app banner to confirm Cancel Responder. (Secondary users are notified of the alarm being triggered.)
Action 2: The primary user has 3 minutes to select an emoji that will decide what signal is sent to the Security Company.
Action 3: By selecting the correct secret emoji, you’ll notify the Security Company to cancel the call-out.
If you select the incorrect emoji, a silent duress signal is sent to your Security Company and they will respond to you.
If you do not select an emoji, your Security Company responds as per usual.
Cancel Responder & Secondary Users
The Cancel Responder feature sends alert notifications and activity log events to all users sharing the device.
Secondary users are notified as soon as Cancel Responder is activated but will not have access to choose the action or be notified of the action taken.
The primary user's decision on cancelling the user generated alarm or sending a silent duress signal will remain private and only be visible to the Security Company service.
What is the difference between Cancel Responder and Panic?
Cancel Responder is only triggered when an alarm has been activated and the primary user will need to decide whether it is a user generated alarm for accidents or send a silent duress to the connected Security Company for support.
Silent Panic is a deliberate alert signal sent by any user requiring emergency support without any
alarms being triggered.